frlane's Reviews

Live Game Escape

Listed in Fun For The Family, Scary

+1 (702)2374164

3300 S Jones Blvd Suite 201 Las Vegas, Nevada, 89146

Reviewed on October 2, 2016. #1 of 1 Reviews

Live Game Escape was a bit of an odd room. The website plays it up as a very creepy/scary room, which it absolutely is not (hint: playing Ghostbusters doesn’t help). The puzzles were so linear that many in the room were just looking over people’s shoulders, and the puzzles were at times, illogical. In fact the entire premise is illogical. You are in a room that is supposed to be a haunted old daycare. For some reason, you have to find all the codes, and put them into a computer touchscreen. Why is that touchscreen there? Did the ghosts put it there? Did the ghosts program it to do these puzzles? It’s completely illogical. Add to that the fact that many of the tech items did not work at all, and that leads to an odd experience. Quite honestly, it is one of the worst rooms I have been to.

Escape Room Palm Springs

Listed in Fun For The Family, Literature, Mystery, Scary

(760) 779-8888

560 S. Williams Rd., Palm Springs, CA 92264

Reviewed on September 18, 2016. #1 of 1 Reviews

We went to Escape Room Palm Springs and did the Dark Shadows Room.
The Good: It had a story, and it had good set design. The decor was well done.
The Bad: When it came time to do the puzzles, this room fell apart quickly. Without giving too much away, they start by giving n elaborate puzzle, which seemed to do nothing… So we tried again… And again. We later realized it did nothing at all but suck away time. Very odd. They also used some technology, which didn’t work. We were pretty sure we knew what was supposed to happen, so we tried a number of times, and it finally worked. Also, many of the puzzles made no sense with the story…..
Overall, it was still fun, but the disjointed puzzles, frustrating tech and wasteful red herrings really ruined the game.

Eskape Rooms

Listed in Fun For The Family, Mystery

(949) 387-8073

2575 McCabe Way Suite 150 Irvine, CA 92614

Reviewed on September 16, 2016. #1 of 1 Reviews

The room itself was well done with lots of neat gadgets and electronics. However, the story felt as though it were just tacked onto a bunch of puzzles. As for the puzzles, they were well done and clever, but they didn’t fit into the story. I felt myself saying, “Ok, WHY was this puzzle here?”

Exodus Escape Room

Listed in Fun For The Family, Mystery, Video Game

(714) 392-7909

5140 E La Palma Ave #203, Anaheim, California

Reviewed on June 25, 2016. #1 of 2 Reviews

We got to do ‘The Apocalypse’ room, which was actually quite interesting. They had some very unique ideas for some of the puzzles, and they didn’t rely on lots of crazy tech to do the work. We also did the Sherlock Room awhile back, and that was also extremely well done!

Enigma HQ: The Lazarus Crystal

Listed in Fun For The Family, Mystery

(619) 431-5321

1446 Front St. Suite 301 San Diego CA 92101

Reviewed on June 25, 2016. #1 of 1 Reviews

This was another really great room. This one relies heavily on technology, but the technology doesn’t get in the way, like some other rooms I have done. The story is unique, and (without giving anything away) does a fantastic job of trying something quite different. Check it out!

Square Room Escape

Listed in Fun For The Family, Mystery, Video Game

(949) 250-4161

2710 Alton Parkway Suite #209, Irvine, CA 92606

Reviewed on April 17, 2016. #1 of 1 Reviews

Square Escape Room was interesting and fun. The atmosphere was great, the people were friendly. The loss of a star was for some puzzles that were a bit illogical, and for some failures in the technology, which cost us a bit of time and required help from the worker to make it work

Mighty Awesome Escape Rooms

Listed in Fun For The Family, Mystery

760-571-9775

1040 La Bonita Drive Ste #140, San Marcos CA 92078

Reviewed on April 13, 2016. #1 of 1 Reviews

Went to Mighty Awesome on a Saturday Night, and first, I have to say that Cory, the owner was great. He is a very friendly guy that seems to really love the art of escape rooms.

The location is easy to find, with lots of parking, and is in a nice building (rare for escape rooms).

As for the room itself, it was really good. He had a number of interesting puzzles that were similar to Indiana Jones… lots of cool maps and artifacts, which is right up my alley.

The room had a good storyline to follow, and it kept true to the theme, throughout.

Overall, highly recommended.

The Entrapment: The Disappearance at Fogmore Manor

Listed in Fun For The Family, Mystery, Paranormal

7990 Dagget St. Suite A-10, San Diego, Ca, 92111

Reviewed on February 19, 2016. #1 of 2 Reviews

This is a FUN room. The mix of atmosphere, technology and puzzles is fantastic. The room is well built to really engross you in the story.

The 13th Room

Listed in Mystery, Paranormal, Scary

909-907-9252

109 E. Third st Pomona, Ca 91766

Reviewed on February 19, 2016. #1 of 2 Reviews

From the building to the pre-room to the actual escape room, this is a fantastic escape room. The story is engrossing, the puzzles are varied and challenging, and the whip atmosphere is great.

Trapped! A Real Life Room Escape Adventure

Listed in Mystery, Scary

(909) 360-9806

600 N Mountain Ave. Suite B204, Upland, CA 91786, United States

Reviewed on February 18, 2016. #1 of 1 Reviews

We did ‘The Chamber’, and it was really quite clever. Puzzles were challenging and varied, and often required teamwork. Great job, great fun!

Vantage Theme – Powered by WordPress.

Warning: Missing argument 2 for wp_register_script(), called in /srv/users/visualdreamsproductions/apps/escaperoomblackbook/public/wp-content/plugins/google-review-link-generator/google-review-link-genarator.php on line 40 and defined in /srv/users/visualdreamsproductions/apps/escaperoomblackbook/public/wp-includes/functions.wp-scripts.php on line 145
Skip to toolbar